Maharana Mewar Annual Awards

Maharana Sajjan Singh Award
estd. 1983

Maharana Sajjan Singh (1874-1884) was custodian to the territory of Shri Eklingji for a comparatively short time. However, his reign is distinguished as his achievements and contributions to the State of Mewar were unparalleled. He provided electrification and piped drinking water and established a municipal council in the city of Udaipur. He created the Sajjan Niwas gardens and employed horticulturists of foreign origin to tend to it. Personally, he was a cartographer, drawing maps of the region and architectural drawings of buildings he designed and constructed. He was well admired even amongst the engineers and architects of his time.

Sajjan Singhji founded a printing press called "Sajjan Mudralaya" and "Sajjan Kirti Sudhakar", a weekly journal was published from there. A library was created, under the guidance of "Kavi Raja Shamaldasji" in the palace grounds of "Sajjan Vani Vilas", where several academic collections in Sanskrit, Hindi and English were maintained. It was here that Kavi Raja wrote the seminal work on Mewar history called "Vir Vinod". He also organized well-attended weekly poetry readings.

Udaipur became a haven for learned scholars, as the Maharana gave them patronage in the form of respect and support. In his time, Maharana Saajjan Singhji also accepted to become the chairman of the "Arya Samaj Council", at the behest of its founder, Swami Dayanand.

The Maharana Sajjan Singh Award is a State Award. This award was instituted to honour work of permanent value to society through the medium of paintings, fine art, sculpture, architecture and craft.

The Annual State Award consists of:

  • Cash award of Rs. 10,001/- or two cash awards of Rs. 5001/- each
  • A silver "Toran" plaque of honour
  • A ceremonial shawl
Maharana Mewar Foundation Annual Awards
Links to (Maharana Mewar Charitable Foundation, Udaipur, Rajasthan, India) site:
Maharana Mewar Foundation Annual Awards | MMF Awards: Title of the Awards | MMF Awards: Previous Honour Roll | MMF Awards: Picture Gallery